Tampa Bay sheriffs races: Gualtieri, Chronister re-elected, Citrus, Hardee results in

Election 2020

TAMPA, Fla. (WFLA) — Voters in four Tampa Bay area counties have chosen who they want to lead their local sheriff’s office this year.

Hillsborough County Sheriff Chad Chronister won re-election with just over 50% of votes. He faced a Republican primary challenger in August but won. He defeated Democrat Gary Pruitt and Ron McMullen, who is not affiliated with a major party on Election Night.

Chronister was appointed sheriff by then-Gov. Rick Scott in 2017 when the previous sheriff retired.

As of shortly after 8:30 p.m. and with 100 percent of precincts reporting, Pinellas County Sheriff Bob Gualtieri was re-elected.. Two Democrats faced off in August for the chance to run against Gualtieri. Eliseo Santana won the primary and is on the ballot opposite the current sheriff.

Citrus County Sheriff Michael Prendergast was re-elected as well with 74.1% of votes, while the race in Hardee County was closer with Vincent M. Crawford defeating Kevin T. White 56.7% to 43.3%. Both winners were challenged by those not affiliated with a major party.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories

get the app

News App

Weather App

Don't Miss

More Don't Miss