Hillsborough County school board: Nadia Combs unseats Steve Cona, all precincts in districts report results

Election 2020

TAMPA, Fla. (WFLA) — It’s been a tumultuous year for members of Hillsborough County’s board of county commissioners and school board, both of which have been tasked with making difficult decisions on how to respond to the coronavirus crisis.

Voters in Hillsborough County decided on four school board races. Three of the races involved incumbents – Steve Cona, Tammy Shamburger and Lynn Gray – who were challenged in August’s primary and forced into runoff races.

Cona, Shamburger were overthrown by challengers, while Gray remains in her seat in district seven.

Three commissioner races were on ballots throughout the county. Only one was an incumbent: Patricia “Pat” Kemp of District 6. Kemp was challenged by her fellow commissioner Sandra Murman, who currently serves District 1 but cannot run again due to term limits.

Kemp won that race with just over 52% of votes.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories

get the app

News App

Weather App

Don't Miss

More Don't Miss