DNC announce 20 candidates participating in 1st debate


TAMPA, Fla. (WFLA/AP) – The Democratic National Committee announced Thursday 20 candidates that have been invited to participate in the first Democratic presidential primary debate. 

The following candidates were invited to participate in the debate: 

  • Sen. Michael Bennet

  • Vice President Joe Biden

  • Sen. Cory Booker

  • Mayor Pete Buttigieg

  • Sec. Julian Castro


    Mayor Bill de Blasio

  • Rep. John Delaney

  • Rep. Tulsi Gabbard

  • Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand

  • Sen. Kamala Harris

  • Gov. John Hickenlooper​​​​​​​

  • Gov. Jay Inslee

  • Sen. Amy Klobuchar​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

  • Rep. Beto O’Rourke

  • Rep. Tim Ryan

  • Sen. Bernie Sanders

  • Rep. Eric Swalwell

  • Sen. Elizabeth Warren

  • Ms. Marianne Williamson

  • Mr. Andrew Yang

Montana Gov. Steve Bullock was the most high-profile candidate left off the list. He failed to reach the party’s polling or grassroots fundraising thresholds.

U.S. Rep. Seth Moulton of Massachusetts, former U.S. Sen. Mike Gravel of Alaska and Miramar, Florida, Mayor Wayne Messam were among the others who missed the threshold for the debate.

Bullock’s campaign has argued that he should have qualified but that the DNC changed its rules midstream, a charge that DNC Chairman Tom Perez rejects.

The debates will take place on June 26 and 27 in Miami, Florida.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories

get the app

News App

Weather App

Don't Miss

More Don't Miss