Watch WFLA News Channel 8

Tampa Bay remembers its fallen officers during National Police Week

Local News
police week_1557764372175.jpg.jpg

As local agencies kick off events for National Police Week, the community will take time to remember police officers who have put their lives on the line and paid the ultimate sacrifice to keep Tampa Bay safe.

Last night, the Tampa Police Department posted photos to its Facebook page of the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Candlelight Vigil on the National Mall in Washington D.C., to remember those who were killed in the line of duty.

Late last year, The National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Fund said in a report that 144 federal, state and local officers died in 2018— nearly a 12 percent increase from the 129 who died in 2017.

With New York as the only state with more fatalities, 11 of those 144 officers were in Florida.

So far this year, law enforcement fatalities are down 32 percent from January through May of 2019 in comparison to January through May of 2018, with only two officer fatalities in Florida.

Since the begining of each law enforcement agency's records, Florida has seen a total of 827 police fatalities, more than half of which came from gunfire. 

Check out the map below to see which part of the community Tampa Bay's fallen officers protected:

Local Fallen Officers



  • Clearwater Police Department

       Ofc. Harry Conyers (1967), Ofc. Peter Price (1969), Ofc. John Passer (1970) and Ofc.

       Ronald Mahony (1977)

  • Haines City Police Department

        Ofc. Jorge L. Gil, Jr. (2016), Ofc. Phoenix M. Braithwaite (2006), 

        Ofc. Christopher Todd Horner (1998)

  • Lakeland Police Department

        Ofc. Arnulfo Crispin  (2011), Patrolman Eugene E DeBarry (1985), Patrolman Thomas Nicholson

        (1932), Patrolman William T Barnett (1932)

  • Sarasota City Police Department

        Officer Warren Jones (1975)

  • Sebring Police Department

        Sgt. Jimmie Moore (1976)

  • St. Petersburg Police Department

      Officer David Crawford (2011), Officer Jeffrey Yaslowitz (2011), Sgt. Thomas Baitinger (2011),

      Det. Herbert Sullivan (1980), Ofc. Charles Eustes (1967), Ocf. James Krupp (1964),

      Ofc. Gene Bessette (1961), Ofc. James Goodson (1947), Ofc. William Newberry (1937),

      Ofc. James Thornton (1937), Ocf. Frank Pike (1933), Ofc. Eugene Minor )1929),

      Det. Wayne Barry (1929), Constable Edward George (1908), Chief James Mitchell (1905)

  • Tampa Police Department

      Ofc. Jeffrey Kocab (2010), Ofc, David Curtis (2010), Corporal Michael Roberts (2009),

      Det. Juan Serrano (2006), Ofc. Lois Marrero (2001), Det. Ricky Childers (1998), Det. Randy Bell

     (1998), Ofc. Norris Epps (1995), Ofc. Porfirio Soto Jr. (1988), Sgt. Gary Pricher (1983), Det. Gerald

     Rauft (1981), Patrolman Anthony Williams (1975), Sgt. Richard Cloud(1975), Det Kenneth Berlin, Jr.

     (1975), Ofc. William KriKava (1965), Ofc. Rolla Standau (1963), Ofc. Carl Chastain, Patrollman

     Morris  Lopez (1949), Ofc. richard Booth (1943), Ofc. Lester Henley (1941), Patrolman Arthur Berry

    (1941), Det. Joe Nance (1939), Det. Sgt. Thomas Chevis (1938), Ofc. Bryan Reese (1935), Ofc

    Henry Lett (1922), Patrolman Juan Nales (1920), Ofc James Ronco (1916), Marshal Joseph Walker

    (1915),  Capt. Samuel Carter (1905), Patrolman John McCormick (1895)

  • Tarpon Springs Police Department

     Ofc. Charles Kondek, Jr. (2014), Ofc. Lanny Langford (1969), Patrolman Everett Blewfield

     (1926), Marshal Rueben (1921)

  • University of South Florida Police Department

      Ofc George Mann (1970)

  • Zephyrhills Police Department

      K9 Gunner (2009)

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories

get the app

News App

Weather App

Don't Miss

More Don't Miss