TAMPA, Fla. (WFLA) – Lawmakers in Hillsborough County voted today to crack down on the teen vaping epidemic.
On Wednesday, commissioners voted 7-0 on a measure to ban Hillsborough County businesses from selling vape devices or products to anyone younger than 21.
The measure also bans anyone under 21 from using or possessing vape devices or products.
Lastly, the ordinance also restricts people from vaping indoors at work, anywhere else where smoking is not allowed, as well as playgrounds, and any public places where there are children, even if it’s outdoors.
Penalties range from $25 to $100 depending on the violation. The penalties double for the fourth offense.
This comes as state lawmakers make a similar push to raise the age you can buy or possess vaping products in Florida.
Other counties are waiting for the state to pass laws first, but Hillsborough joins a handful of counties and cities acting now.
“All local governments in Florida are preempted from doing anything regarding tobacco products, but they left a small opening for e-cigarettes,” said Hillsborough County Commissioner Sandy Murman. “My priority is protecting our children.”
- Beyoncé breaks Grammys record, is now most-decorated artist
- Getting engaged? You could win free Cracker Barrel for a year
- Woman found breathing at New York funeral home hours after being pronounced dead
- Legislature’s special session to focus on Disney’s Reedy Creek Improvement District
- Sunshine returns to start the work week