TAMPA, Fla. (WFLA) — The National Weather Service issued several Tornado Watches across the Tampa Bay area Wednesday morning.

The Tornado Watches were issued in Polk, Manatee, Sarasota, DeSoto, Highlands, and Hardee Counties and are in effect until 5 p.m. Wednesday.

Affected cities include:

  • Bayshore Gardens
  • Bowling Green
  • Bradenton
  • Englewood
  • Lakeland
  • North Port
  • Palmetto
  • Sarasota
  • South Venice
  • Venice
  • Wauchula
  • Winter Haven
  • Zolfo Springs
  • Arcadia
  • Avon Park
  • Bonita Springs
  • Cape Coral
  • Fort Myers
  • Lehigh Acres
  • North Fort Myers
  • Placid Lakes
  • Port Charlotte
  • Punta Gorda
  • Sebring

The watch also includes the cities of Arcadia, Avon Park, Bonita Springs, Cape Coral, Fort Myers, Lehigh Acres, North Fort Myers, Placid Lakes, Port Charlotte, Punta Gorda, and Sebring.

This is a developing story. For the latest Max Defender 8 updates on hurricane Ian, click here.

Tracking Hurricane Ian

>> Latest updates on Hurricane Ian

>> Live Max Defender 8 radar

>> Tampa Bay evacuations

>> Find your evacuation zone

>> Max Defender 8 Hurricane Guide

>> School closures

>> Where to find sandbags

>> Closures and cancellations

>> Download the Max Defender 8 app