Florida casts 29 Electoral College votes for Trump


TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (Cap News Services) — Florida’s 29 Electoral College voters were cast for President Donald Trump during a ceremony in the Senate chamber.

Secretary of State Laurel Lee conducted the vote Monday after three electors were named to replace three who couldn’t attend the ceremony. That included Senate President Wilton Simpson who announced hours before the vote that he tested positive for COVID-19.

State Senator Jeff Brandes was elected to take his place.

“Obviously shocked” was Brandes’ reaction.  “Our prayers are with him, as he’s kinda going through this right now. I have spoken with him today and he’s in good spirits.”

Each of the Electors here hand picked by the Republican Party of Florida.

“I was a surrogate for President Trump in the Jacksonville area” says state Representative and Elector Jason Fischer. “I was an RNC delegate for the President.”

Fischer is proud to be one of the people making history today as he described his fellow electors.

“Some elected. Some people are grassroots activists, and some people who have been active in the party for a very long time” says Fischer.

And for many of the twenty-nine Trump supporters, todays vote was bittersweet including for Dr. Roy Hinman an Elector from St. Augustine.

“Well, as they say up North, it ain’t over till the fat lady sings. I think that was Yogi Berra,, so I don’t think the fat lady has sung up to this point” Hinman said.

Each elector signed and certified their vote as required by the Constitution.

”Thank you for performing your constitutional duty today” said Secretary of State Laurel Lee after the votes were cast.

State GOP Chair Joe Gruters says even if the Presidents challenges fall short, he will still be a national force.

“Whether or not he starts preparing for the 2024 cycle. I think there’s a lot of people around the state that will continue to support him” Gruters said.

Trump won Florida with 51.2% of the vote in last month’s election. He also carried Florida in 2016.


Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories

get the app

News App

Weather App

Don't Miss

More Don't Miss