$15 minimum wage in Florida? These states enacted laws for increase

Florida
minimum_wage_getty_1_1545843528374.jpg

TAMPA, Fla. (WFLA) –  John Morgan is continuing his fight to increase the minimum wage in Florida, saying he now has more than 600,000 signatures on a petition to get a $15 minimum wage on the Nov. 2020 ballot.

Morgan’s law firm contributed $474,371 in April to Florida For A Fair Wage, a political committee chaired by Morgan, according to the state Division of Elections website. In total, The Morgan Firm PA and Morgan and Morgan P.A. had contributed $1.454 million to the ballot drive.

The state’s minimum wage would increase from its current $8.46 to $10 an hour on Sept. 30, 2021, and increase by $1 each year until it hits $15 an hour on Sept. 30, 2026.

Despite rigorous efforts from Morgan, Florida would be far from being the first state to enact legislation to raise the minimum wage to $15 an hour.

On Tuesday, Connecticut joined six other states in creating a law that will increase the state’s minimum wage to $15 by 2023.

California, Massachusetts, New York, and the District of Columbia already currently have $15 minimum wage laws, along with Maryland, New Jersey and Illinois scheduled to increase minimum wage.

For context, the current federal minimum wage is  $7.25 per hour, a rate that South Carolina, Tennessee, Mississippi, Alabama and Louisiana follow because those states have no legislation regarding minimum wage on the state-level.

With a full-time schedule, a person making $7.25 an hour would earn only $15,080 per year in salary, while a person working full-time on a $15 hourly wage would earn $31,200.

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Latest Videos

More Video
More Contests

Trending Stories

get the app

News App

Weather App

Don't Miss

More Don't Miss