Your local election headquarters: Tampa Bay primary election results

Elections Regional

TAMPA, Fla. (WFLA) – Here is our live coverage of some of the Tampa Bay’s key races from throughout Primary Election Night (Updates go from most recent to oldest):

9:08 p.m

In an upset at the polls, Lakeland City Commissioner Scott Franklin unseats Rep. Ross Spano’s 15th Congressional District with 51.3% of the votes in the Republican Primary.

The 15th District, which encompasses Clermont, Lakeland and parts of Hillsborough County has been Spano’s territory since he took office in 2018.

Franklin will face Democrat Alan Cohn in November.

9:08 p.m

Adam Hattersley concedes to Alan Cohn in the District 15 Democratic Primary.

9:04 p.m

Making history as the first black woman in the position and the first LGBTQ person to hold office in Florida, Democrat Michele Rayner wins the Florida House District 70, with no Republican challenger.

8:40 p.m

With 100% of precincts reporting, Eliseo Santana wins the Democratic primary for Pinellas County County Sheriff. The Army veteran and former PCSO communications maintenance supervisor will face Bob Gualtieri in November.

8:31 p.m

Former investigative journalist Alan Cohn leads the Democratic race for Florida’s 15th District with 41.1% of the votes. Adam Hattersley trails by more than 4,000 votes with 90% of the precincts reporting.

8:08 p.m

Air Force veteran Anna Paulina Luna wins in the race for St. Petersburg District 13 Republican nominee. In an interview with 8 On Your Side’s Chip Osowski, Paulina Luna accredited her win to making herself accessible to her constituents. Paulina Luna will face Charlie Crist in November.

Paulina Luna tweeted about her victory not long after seeing the results, vowing to defeat Crist in November’s race.

7:54 p.m

In a tight race, a little more than 1,300 votes separate incumbant Ross Spano, from challenger Scott Franklin with 95% of precincts reporting.

7:50 p.m

Hillsborough County Sheriff Chad Chronister will remain in his position with 62.5% of the votes in the county, until he faces a Democrat challenger in November.

Chronister thanked his supporters on Twitter not long after learning the results of the race.

7:47 p.m

Anna Paulina Luna leads in the race for Pinellas County’s District 13 seat with 35.8%. That’s more than 4,473 more votes than her closest competitor, Amanda Makki.

7:35 p.m

Lakeland City Commissioner Scott Franklin is leading incumbant Ross Spano by 4% for Florida’s 15th District (which spans across the I-4 corridor) with 40% of the votes counted.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories

get the app

News App

Weather App

Don't Miss

More Don't Miss