TAMPA (WFLA) – As coronavirus cases surge throughout the United States, new quarantine orders are being put in place around the country in order to stop the spread.

If you’re hitting the road for a getaway, be aware that there may be restrictions if you leave or enter the state of Florida.

Traveling to Florida

Anyone traveling to Florida from New York, New Jersey, or Connecticut is currently required to self-quarantine for 14 days, or for the duration of their stay in the state, whichever is shorter. 


Chicago officials announced that effective July 6 travelers entering or returning to Chicago from states experiencing COVID-19 hot spots to quarantine for 14 days including Florida.


On June 29, the Kansas Department of Health and Environment said people who have traveled to Florida need to quarantine for 14 days after they arrive in the state.


Pennsylvania Gov. Tom Wolf announced July 2 that anyone traveling to or has recently traveled from the following states will need to quarantine for 14 days upon returning to Pennsylvania: Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nevada, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Utah.

New York tri-state area

On June 24, New York, New Jersey and Connecticut launched a new mandate requiring travelers from states with high rates of COVID-19 infection to self-quarantine for two weeks. The rule applies to travelers from Florida, Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, North Carolina, South Carolina, Texas, Utah and Washington.


Since March 27, all travelers arriving in Massachusetts have been instructed to self-quarantine for 14 days to help prevent the spread of the coronavirus.

New Mexico

Per a June 1 executive order from New Mexico Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham, anyone who travels out of state and returns or comes into New Mexico is now required to self-quarantine for two weeks.


Effective since June 15, travelers arriving in Vermont must complete a 14-day quarantine in Vermont or, alternatively, complete a seven-day quarantine followed by a negative Covid-19 test in their home state.