April is Distracted Driving Awareness Month.
Lawmakers, law enforcement and families who have faced the danger of distracted driving firsthand are urging all Florida drivers to put the phone down while behind the wheel.
At least 233 Floridians were killed by distracted drivers in 2018, according to data from the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. The Florida Highway Patrol says, on average, distracted driving accounts for more than a thousand crashes in our state every week.
Under current Florida law, texting while driving is only a secondary offense. That means drivers can’t be pulled over for texting alone.
Some, like the Scherer family from Riverview, are trying to change that.
“His death would be in vain and our survival would have been for nothing if we sat back and didn’t do anything about it,” said Brooke Scherer.
Her 9-year-old son Logan died in 2016 after a driver distracted by his phone rear-ended their car at more than 100 miles per hour.
Florida’s laws could soon change – and the Scherer family’s mourning is motivating the mission.