Syracuse picked to win ACC in men's lacrosse - WFLA News Channel 8

Syracuse picked to win ACC in men's lacrosse

Posted: Updated:

ACC newcomer Syracuse has been selected as the preseason favorite in the ACC men's lacrosse preseason poll, the league announced Wednesday.

Head coach John Desko's Orange received 28 points in balloting among the ACC's six head coaches. Reigning NCAA Champion Duke and defending ACC champion North Carolina each received 27 points and were selected second. Virginia (16), Notre Dame (15) and Maryland (13) were selected to finish fourth, fifth and sixth respectively.

The Preseason All-ACC Team features  three selections each from Duke, Maryland, North Carolina and Virginia.

Duke's Brendan Fowler, who was selected to the Preseason All-ACC Team as the face-off specialist, is the lone returning USILA First Team All-American. Fowler was also named the 2013 ACC Defensive Player of the Year and the NCAA Championship Most Outstanding Player.

Joining Fowler on the Preseason All-ACC Team are five returning USILA All-America Second Team honorees, including Duke senior attackman Jordan Wolf, North Carolina junior midfielder Chad Tutton, Maryland senior defenseman Mike Ehrhardt and senior goalkeeper Niko Amato, and Virginia senior defenseman Scott McWilliams. Maryland junior defenseman Goran Murray, North Carolina junior attackman Joe Sankey, and Virginia senior attackman Mark Cockerton and senior midfielder Rob Emery are USILA All-America Third Team honorees from a season ago and are also Preseason All-ACC selections.

Rounding out the Preseason All-ACC Team are Notre Dame senior midfielder Jim Marlatt, Duke senior long-stick midfielder Luke Deprey and North Carolina senior short-stick midfielder Ryan Creighton, who earned honorable mention USILA All-America honors following the 2013 season.

The ACC Men's Lacrosse Championship will be played April 25-27 at PPL Park in Philadelphia.

ACC Men's Lacrosse Preseason All-ACC Coaches Poll and Team

Coaches Poll

1. Syracuse (28)

T2. Duke (27)

T2. North Carolina (27)

4. Virginia (16)

5. Notre Dame (15)

6. Maryland (13)


Preseason All-ACC Team


Mark Cockerton, Sr., Virginia

Joe Sankey, Jr., North Carolina

Jordan Wolf, Sr., Duke


Rob Emery, Sr., Virginia

Jim Marlatt, Sr., Notre Dame

Chud Tutton, Jr., North Carolina


Mike Ehrhardt, Sr., Maryland

Scott McWilliams, Sr., Virginia

Goran Murray, Jr., Maryland


Niko Amato, Sr., Maryland


Brendan Fowler, Sr., Duke

Long-stick Midfield

Luke Duprey, Sr., Duke

Short-stick Midfield

Ryan Creighton, Sr., North Carolina


Powered by WorldNow

200 South Parker Street, Tampa, FL 33606

Telephone: 813.228.8888
Fax: 813.225.2770

Can’t find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Media General Communications Holdings, LLC. A Media General Company.