Parts of Western NC declared disaster area - WFLA News Channel 8

Parts of Western NC declared disaster area

Posted: Updated:

President Barack Obama has declared a major disaster for 13 counties and the Eastern Bank of Cherokee Indians after heavy summer rains, making the area eligible for federal aid.
The president's order calls for aid to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area affected by severe storms, flooding, landslides, and mudslides in July.
A statement from The White House Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures for all counties and tribes within North Carolina.
The counties affected by the declaration are Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Buncombe, Burke, Caldwell, Jackson, Macon, Madison, Mitchell, Polk, Watauga, and Yancey.
The Federal Emergency Management Agency said additional designations may be made later if requested by the state and warranted by further damage assessments.

Powered by WorldNow

200 South Parker Street, Tampa, FL 33606

Telephone: 813.228.8888
Fax: 813.225.2770

Can’t find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Media General Communications Holdings, LLC. A Media General Company.