Woods assessed two shot penalty, still in tournament - WFLA News Channel 8

Woods assessed two shot penalty, still in tournament

Posted: Updated:
AP Photo AP Photo

Tiger Woods has started round three of the Masters after being assessed a two-stroke penalty this morning for an improper drop in the second round Friday.
    
Woods could have been disqualified but that option was waived by the Masters Rules Committee. That's caused some discussion about whether Woods should have withdrawn from the tournament.
    
Woods was cheered as he went to the first tee and birdied the first hole to get to 2-under par, four shots back of overnight leader Jason Day.
    
Woods birdied the first hole and is 1-under for the day through four holes.
    
The Australian is nursing a one-shot lead heading into the third round of the Masters.  He's trying to become the first golfer from his country to slip on the green jacket of a Masters champion.  Day vaulted to the top of the leaderboard with a 4-under 68 that was the best round on Friday.
    
Fellow Aussie Marc Leishman is tied with 53-year old Fred Couples for second.
    
The golfers are playing under gorgeous sunny skies.  Tim Clark is taking advantage with a 6-under score through 16 holes, leaving him four under for the tournament.

 

CONNECT WITH US ON TWITTER. WE'RE @WFLATAMPA.

Powered by WorldNow

200 South Parker Street, Tampa, FL 33606

Telephone: 813.228.8888
Fax: 813.225.2770
Email: news@wfla.com

Can’t find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Media General Communications Holdings, LLC. A Media General Company.